Week 4: The Unnoticeables, We Are Never Meeting in Real Life, and The Power of Habit

Image displays two books and an iPhone SE standing face out on a wooden bookshelf. There are several stacks of books in the background. The iPhone displays the cover of The Power of Habit on the Audible app (a yellow cover with four red hampster wheels and a stick man running in each one). The two books are The Unnoticeables and We Are Never Meeting in Real Life (a yellow cover with bold black writing and a kitten, who looks to be recovering from being in water, hissing).

Holy aggressively yellow book covers, Batman!

The Unnoticeables, Robert Brockway: I was so looking forward to this book last week but I just couldn’t get to it. As soon as I hit “publish” on this post, I am going to get comfy and start reading this!

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life, Samantha Irby: I have been thinking about getting this book for a while. I probably would have bought it for the title and cover alone, but then a fellow bibliomaniac recommended it. Also, looking at the cover again, there are endorsement quotes from both Roxane Gay and Lindy West. What the hell took me so long to get on board here?

The Power of Habit, Charles Duhigg: I have a ton of habits that I’d like to change. I want to read faster, I want to spend less time screwing around on the internet, I want to be more productive, et cetera, et cetera. I’m hoping this book will help me understand how habits are formed and how to change them so I can develop more effective, healthy ones. I’m reading this one in audio format because I promised people handmade gifts for Christmas (mainly knit socks) and I still haven’t finished them, so audio means I can multitask. Man, it’s almost February; this is ridiculous. Another habit for the list: start making Christmas presents in June, not October.

Housekeeping: I am thinking of buying a book stand so I can read print books while knitting. Any recommendations? If you have one you like, I would love to hear where you got it. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment